Events Calendar

Signature Event

A Hilarious Night Out
with Dads & Du
des
Jeff Oliver 
 Devan Sipher  Dan Zevin
Moderated by Rebecca Stewart

Saturday, March 16, 2013
8:00 pm

Event co-chairs:  Eileen Seiger, Nanci Bernstein

clientuploads/Arts_Culture/Book Festival/2012-2013/JeffOliver.jpg

When Canadian reality TV producer Jonathan Farb finds out that he may be dying of a brain tumor on the same day that he catches his wife having an affair with her obstetrician, he makes a pledge: to raise his five-month-old son Elliot to manhood before his time is up. Farb's list of parenting goals range from instilling a religious identification (can a baby be Bar Mitzvahed?) to the importance of Education (the birds & the bees), and onto more pressing pursuits, like amassing capital for his son's inheritance.

An energetic and ultimately poignant literary debut, Failure To Thrive digs deep into the compromises of marriage, the intensity of parenthood and the love that propels a father in the face of his own mortality to raise his son.

Jeff Oliver is a programming executive at the Food Network and has worked as a producer on shows including Last Comic Standing, Big Brother and the very uncomplicated Denise Richards: It's Complicated. A graduate of McGill University and Brooklyn College's MFA in Fiction, his stories have appeared in The Nerve Magazine, Yankee Pot Roast and The Brooklyn Review. He was born in Toronto and lives in Maplewood, New Jersey with his wife Liz and son Evan.

 

clientuploads/Arts_Culture/Book Festival/2012-2013/DevanSipher.jpgIn this debut novel, Sipher explores a thirty-something New Yorker’s quest to find his soulmate with humor, intelligence and heart. In The Wedding Beat, Gavin Greene works as the wedding columnist for the Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper, "The Paper."  He is surrounded by lavish wedding celebrations, romance, and the promise of everlasting love, and yet he still can’t find himself a girlfriend, let alone a bride. Where is the nice Jewish girl that he (along with his meshugeneh but well meaning parents) dreams of? The Wedding Beat tells the classic New York story of boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy assigned to write article about girl’s wedding. Fans of Emily Giffin, Jennifer Weiner, Lauren Weisberger, and Jonathan Tropper are sure to fall in love with Sipher’s witty debut.

Devan Sipher has been writing about weddings for the New York Times’s “Vows” column for more than five years. He received an M.F.A. from the Tisch School of the Arts at NYU. After brief stints in medical school and rabbinical school, Sipher pursued a journalism career, landing at the New York Times as the only unmarried male working in the weddings section. Sipher lives in New York City and is single.

 

clientuploads/Arts_Culture/Book Festival/2012-2013/DanZevin-1.jpgAlready optioned by Adam Sandler’s production company, Dan Gets a Minivan: Life at the Intersection of Dude and Dad, is a coming-of-middle-age tale by Thurber finalist Dan Zevin, master of "Seinfeld-ian nothingness" (Time) about a man's inevitable transition from couplehood to familyhood in the vehicle that dare not speak its name, fully loaded with a wife, kids, dog, and a GPS route out of the city and into the suburbs. 

Dan Zevin has been a comic correspondent for National Public Radio’s WBUR, the humor columnist for Boston magazine and the Boston Phoenix, and a contributor to national publications including Rolling Stone, Maxim, Details, Glamour, Elle, and Parenting. A Thurber Prize for American Humor finalist for The Day I Turned Uncool: Confessions of a Reluctant Grownup, he is also the author of Entry-Level Life and The Nearly-Wed Handbook. Dan lives with his wife and their two children in the suburbs of New York. He is an active member of his local Costco. 
Program subject to change.

Tickets

Download Order Form>>

Order by phone
860-231-6316

Order Online>>

Purchase in Person
JCC Member Services Center


Signature Event
$20 per person

Friend:
$136 per person

Angel:
$360 per person

Download Brochure>>

Sponsors>>

Etgar Keret in Conversation>>
On-Stage 
with Debut Novelists>>
Delia Ephron – New Author, New Date>>
Etgar Keret On Screen>>
Hot Buzz about Books>>
Great Children's Read>>
One Book One Jewish Hartford>>
Book Lovers Club>> 
Authors on the Road>>
Overview>>